Gluten-Free Vegan Banana Bread

Though the weather has been completely awful here in the frigid north, I really enjoy days like today where I can stay toasty indoors in my worn-out sweater, catch up on Grey’s Anatomy and The Vampire Diaries, and conjure up something spectacular in the kitchen!

I found a recipe for gluten-free banana bread on Tumblr and thought I’d take a shot at it!

IMG_4659

The original recipe called for brown sugar and since I refuse to buy processed sugar, I substituted with dates! I also didn’t have a loaf pan available, so I made do with a muffin tray.

I’m not a gluten-free advocate of any sort, but I do really enjoy trying recipes that mimic kitchen classics without the unnecessary fat and sugar. The bread is very moist with the perfect amount of sweetness and banana flavour peaking through.

I’ve worked with rolled oats many times before, but usually in it’s raw form in granola clusters, granola bars, oatmeal etc. Grinding it into a fine powder and using it in place of wheat flour is genius! The larger pieces of oatmeal also add great texture to the bread.

As mentioned above, I used dates instead of brown sugar. Dates are one of the best natural sweeteners out there and have 98 less calories than brown sugar per 100 grams! It’s also a great source of dietary fibre, so using dates in place of refined sugars is a great way to make any recipe better!

IMG_4665

To make the bread even better, I decided to add some chia seeds and milled flax seed. These two powerhouse seeds are essential in my pantry! I always put them in my granola bars and morning smoothies to add texture and extra nutrition. Both seeds are high in Omega-3, which is important for neurological and cardiovascular health, and dietary fibre, which we all know helps make going numero 2 a much more pleasant experience.

Okay so without any further ado, here’s the recipe! It’s simple, nutritious, and freaking delicious so I definitely recommend giving it a try! Also, next time I venture on a baking escapade, I will try to take photos during the process. Anyway, enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium-sized ripe bananas
  • 2 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup all natural peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup dates
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 tablespoon flax seeds

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Take some olive oil on a paper towel, run it over the surface of your loaf pan/muffin tray, and set aside
  3. Place oats in a blender/food processor for ~30 seconds until it turns into a powder texture. It’s perfectly fine if not all the oats are finely milled- larger pieces will add great texture to the bread. Set oats aside.
  4. Chop dates into smaller pieces and place into a blender/food processor with 2-3 teaspoons of warm water if the dates are dry. The water will help the dates come together, forming a paste. Set date paste aside.
  5. Peel the two bananas, cut them into coins, and mash them using a fork until there are no longer any chunks.
  6. Combine the banana, oats, dates, peanut butter baking powder, chia seeds, and flax seeds together in a large bowl. Fold the mixture with a spatula until everything is well mixed.
  7. Add the almond milk to the mixture and mix well. The texture of the ‘dough’ should be similar to that of regular banana bread, but slightly drier/less liquidy.
  8. Pour mixture into loaf pan/muffin tray and bake in the oven for 25-27 minutes. Check on it at the 25 minute mark and if the top is firm and golden, you’re done!

Now you can enjoy this delicious bread in the mornings for breakfast or whenever you need something quick to fill up up! Store them in the fridge using saran wrap and whenever you want to devour one, heat it in the microwave for 30-45 seconds so its nice and warm.

Okay, so I guess that’s all for now. I hope you all enjoy!

Love,

Amy

Click here for the original recipe. 

Leave a Reply

